Addis Ababa, Ethiopia (29 October 2022)

Made effective as of October 18, 2022, the United Arab Emirates will not be posting 30 days visa applications for 20 African nationalities. The notice sent out to trade partners, including travel agents indicates that all requests from these countries should be rejected.

These include Uganda, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Cameroon, Nigeria, Liberia, Burundi, Republic of Guinea, Gambia, Togo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Senegal, Benin, Ivory Coast, Congo, Rwanda, Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Comoros, and the Dominican Republic.

Although an explicit reason was reportedly not given, some experts opine that the move was aimed at keeping away African nationalities who had taken advantage of the visit visas to overstay in the UAE.

The Rwandan Mission in the UAE, however, is insisting that the public that recent media reports of UAE visa ban on Rwandans are false and misleading and that citizens of Rwanda continue to enjoy all categories of UAE visas including visit visas.

Source: African News, Rwandan Mission in UAE


The opinions expresses here in the post "UAE Bans Nationals of 20 African Countries from Entering Dubai" are those of the individua's contributor(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of Business Info Ethiopia , BIE Intelligence PLC, its publisher, editor, or any of its other contributors.


Hanna is an aspiring economist in her final year at Addis Ababa University. She has written hundreds of insightful daily stories, analyses, and features about the Ethiopian economy and beyond.

Comments are closed.